best alcohol for shellac flakes

I'm a finish carpenter first, part time finisher second. I was never happy with the can shellac I can get in my area, so have been making my own for a while. Making shellac is a simple process whereby we dissolve the flakes of shellac we buy into 190-proof denatured alcohol which we either buy through license here in the UK or we use Methylated spirits, which is denatured alcohol with an added violet colouring and any of a number of other additives that make the Meths undrinkable and even poisonous to prevent the misuse of it as an alternative … I'm curious to know though what is in their retarder. Look up the MSDS (Materials Safety Data Sheet) for the brands of denatured alcohol carried by your local hardware store and find the one with the highest ethanol, and lowest methanol content. (Finishing Forum) For good results, actually spectacular results, the best finish is made by mixing up the shellac from flakes. The resins fro… How to Dissolve Shellac and Improve The Shelf Life of Dewaxed Shellac Flakes: 10/12/2010: In the past couple of years, we have done lots and lots of testing and research to figure out why in some cases dewaxed shellac flakes won't dissolve in alcohol. Apply the shellac generously. But once I settled on Tiger Flakes, I stuck with Tiger Flakes. A 3 lb. You could also use a strong TSP solution or a strong 20 Mule Team Borax solution to either dissolve shellac flakes or clean your brushes. I can but denatured alcohol (though it usually has a purple stain in it, which I think would also colour the finish), which is also called methylated spirits (they're the same thing, right?) Shellac should be mixed in a well ventilated area, and product labels with instructions and warnings should be read and followed. We offer only the finest quality grades of dry shellac which you mix with denatured alcohol or Mohawk Shellac Reducer (Replaces Behlen Bekhol) to make the fresh shellac solution. I like consistency and predictabil